Feeling down and confused

Convicted Driver Insurance

Rosy79

Hi there, I am new to this forum and this is the first time i've posted. I was banned from driving for 2 years in February last year after a traumatic life event. I am a registered nurse and informed my employer at the time who was very supportive. I also informed the NMC my registered body, who took no action and again were very supportive.

I applied for a job as a school nurse and interviewed for the post this morning. I declared my conviction to the Principal and the Bursar who interviewed me at the end of the interview and was open and honest about it. They were very understanding regarding the circumstances surrounding the incident and said it wouldn't prevent me from being offered the job. Subsequently I interviewed for a post in a local hospital 2 weeks ago and was also successful and declared my conviction with no issues or further questions asked.

I had really wanted the job in the school due to the good working hours term time etc...however when the bursar rang me this afternoon and said i was successful and offered me the post, she said she would like to talk to me about the conviction and asked had there been anymore incidences. I replied no. She then stated they had previously had a staff member with an alcohol problem and there was a strict policy on alcohol. I replied that I understood and this would not be an issue for me since I no longer drink alcohol. Her response was well i'm glad we have had this informal chat and just so you are aware we will be keeping an eye on you. I now immediately feel uneasy and that I am starting with a black mark against my name and may be treated differently.

Am i reading too much into this? Any thoughts? I'm tempted to take the job in the hospital instead now.