DVLA MEDICAL

Convicted Driver Insurance

CMitchell

Got a letter in the post from the DVLA stating that I am now required to do a medical exam in order to determine if I am able to drive after a drink drive conviction?
I have had my licence back for over 2 years and wonder if I have to do this medical or if I can appeal this?

Any answers are greatfully accepted.

Got a letter in the post from the DVLA stating that I am now required to do a medical exam in order to determine if I am able to drive after a drink drive conviction?
I have had my licence back for over 2 years and wonder if I have to do this medical or if I can appeal this?

Any answers are greatfully accepted.

Basically no. Solicitors agree it is against human rights but state they can not beat the DVLA Write to your MP I have. I have been driving for 13 months bought a brand new car and don't drink and drive. I had out of the ordinary circumstances at the time but the courts ignored it all and threw the book at me. I enjoy a drink, I don't know what state my liver is in but that is my choice. We all know we have a right to drink as long as we don't drive. I even bought myself an alchosense machine to make sure I never took any chances again. I phoned the DVLA at the time to ensure that I did not have to take the medical and was told no. I'm gutted I need my car to transport my elderly mother around. Basically I don't trust the test and if this came up ten years time the DVLA can still make you take the medical.

1) I got a similar letter last week (Dec11) but got my licence back (May 11). I was a High risk offender. I immediately informed DVLA the next day by phone and they were only interested in a yes/no to take a medical with their computer generated appointment system.