DUI in France: what are the consequences in the UK?

Convicted Driver Insurance

robfleck

Hi,

I am a UK resident with a UK driving license. I was caught drink driving in France and have been banned from driving on french soil for 8 months. I am awaiting the conviction from the judge which is likely to be a hefty fine and no jail time due to it being my first offence.

I wanted to know if this will affect me driving in France and if I will need to declare this to my UK insurance company.

Many thanks for any help of advice you may have.

Rob

Hi,

I am a UK resident with a UK driving license. I was caught drink driving in France and have been banned from driving on french soil for 8 months. I am awaiting the conviction from the judge which is likely to be a hefty fine and no jail time due to it being my first offence.

I wanted to know if this will affect me driving in France and if I will need to declare this to my UK insurance company.

Rob
That's a tricky one, my thoughts were, that whilst we WERE in Europe we only really had a reciprocal agreement with one other country for driving offences etc. And that was N.Ireland.
Sorry I can't be of more help. But I'll watch this with interest. I think Google may be able to help.

Hi,

Rob
You will not be able to drive in france during the ban it will not affect you driving in the uk

That's a tricky one, my thoughts were, that whilst we WERE in Europe we only really had a reciprocal agreement with one other country for driving offences etc. And that was N.Ireland.
Sorry I can't be of more help. But I'll watch this with interest. I think Google may be able to help.
The reciprocal arrangement is with the Republic of Ireland. A ban in the UK includes Northern Ireland, it being part of the UK and all. I think the Isle of Man is also included in the UK/ROI arrangement.