Car Insurance/ 6 points within first two years?

Convicted Driver Insurance

alexc

I have been driving for about 9 months now with my policy finishing in October where I hope to get 1 year no claims.

I recently was issued a ticket for driving without Insurance in a friend's car - have just got a letter saying to pay a £300 fine and I will receive 6 points on my license.
It doesn't exactly say here that there will be a ban or a disqualification just that I will need to send my license to them? I'm not exactly sure why it doesn't give more information on here and tell me that I will be losing my license? And will have to retake both tests? Or whether I'll get it back with 6 points which I doubt as I'm in my first two years?

I'm not sure what to do about my insurance, can I keep it going while I won't be driving for 1-2 months while I retake tests and get license again or will they know as I would like to get my 1st year no claims in October?

Would really like some advice on whats best to do?

Regards,
Alex

Hello Alex, first off it is not a disqualification for totting up 6 points within your first 2 years of driving but rather a revocation. Pay the fine and send the licence away, the DVLA will then be in contact about the cancellation of your licence. As soon as you are revoked you may apply for your licence again, take the test etc.

Your provisional licence will be returned to you with 6 points on, if you get 1 more point within the 2 year period that will trigger another revocation. You will find that you are not allowed to hold insurance without a valid GB drivers licence. You could try and let your policy run until you're back on the road, but you will have to make your insurance aware of your IN10 conviction.